Pulse not working since new java version

The Pulse Support forums are here so that you can ask questions or leave comments related to pulse. They are watched by Zutubi staff who will endeavour to answer your questions promptly.

Pulse not working since new java version

Postby Kire on Tue Jan 19, 2016 9:53 am

Hi,

Lately a new version of Java was installed on the server. Since then the Pulse Software is not working:

STATUS | wrapper | 2016/01/18 23:01:19 | Launching a JVM...
FATAL | wrapper | 2016/01/18 23:01:20 | Unable to execute Java command. The system cannot find the file specified. (0x2)
FATAL | wrapper | 2016/01/18 23:01:20 | "C:\Program Files\Java\jre7\bin\java" -Dpulse.home=.. -Djava.awt.headless=true -Djava.util.logging.config.class=com.zutubi.pulse.logging.ConsoleConfig -XX:MaxPermSize=128m -Xmx1024m -Djava.library.path="../lib" -classpath "../lib/wrapper.jar;../lib/boot.jar" -Dwrapper.key="PrDszEfT7WvDTsyO" -Dwrapper.port=32000 -Dwrapper.jvm.port.min=31000 -Dwrapper.jvm.port.max=31999 -Dwrapper.pid=448 -Dwrapper.version="3.2.3" -Dwrapper.native_library="wrapper" -Dwrapper.service="TRUE" -Dwrapper.cpu.timeout="10" -Dwrapper.jvmid=1 org.tanukisoftware.wrapper.WrapperStartStopApp com.zutubi.pulse.command.PulseCtl 1 start com.zutubi.pulse.command.PulseCtl true 1 stopservice
FATAL | wrapper | 2016/01/18 23:01:20 | Critical error: wait for JVM process failed

Any idea how the fix this?

Erik
Kire
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 6:35 pm

Re: Pulse not working since new java version

Postby jason.sankey on Wed Jan 20, 2016 1:54 am

Hi Erik,

It's possible the install location for Java changed when you upgraded. Does this file exist:

C:\Program Files\Java\jre7\bin\java

? If not, you need to check the value of wrapper.java.command in $PULSE_HOME/bin/wrapper.conf and make sure it references your new java binary. It may be an explicit path you can update in the file, or may be using JAVA_HOME in which case you can edit the environment variable and then restart (services won't necessarily see environment changes unless you restart).

Cheers,
Jason
jason.sankey
 
Posts: 1815
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 12:26 pm

Re: Pulse not working since new java version

Postby Kire on Wed Jan 20, 2016 10:23 am

Hi Jason,

I already tried changing the JAVA_HOME variable but somehow that didn't work. Never realized I could place an explicit path too there. Now I put an explicit path and it's working like a charm again!

Thanx again!

Cheers,
Erik
Kire
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 6:35 pm

Re: Pulse not working since new java version

Postby jason.sankey on Fri Jan 22, 2016 12:51 am

Hi Erik,

Glad that sorted it out and thanks for following up.

Cheers,
Jason
jason.sankey
 
Posts: 1815
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 12:26 pm


Return to Pulse Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron